Our Top 10 Films of 2011

Alex: So these lists will be fully expanded and elaborated upon when we do our Ira ballots in about a month’s time. But until then, here’s my top ten of 2011:

  1. The Tree of Life
  2. Moneyball
  3. A Separation
  4. Hugo
  5. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
  6. Meek’s Cutoff
  7. In Darkness
  8. Certified Copy
  9. Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol
  10. Weekend

Mock away, Aaron…

Aaron:

Wow. I don’t really know if this is worth mocking, but I will say that Moneyball is a very strange second-best film of the year… strange because it’s so average (not really bad, but just average… more of a fart in the wind than any storm in its own right) – but hey, whatever.

Here’s my list (with several similarities) (hyperlinks to my own review blog):

1) The Tree of Life
2) The Cave of Forgotten Dreams 3D
3) Aurora
4) Meeks Cutoff
5) The Future
6) Mysteries of Lisbon
7) The Autobiography of Nicolae Ceausescu
8) A Separation
9) Certified Copy
10) The Sleeping Beauty and Tomboy

Alex: I love that Moneyball is the one you go after — I can’t believe I escaped your wrath on Mission Impossible! Your list is stubbornly arthouse, and even though our lists have four movies in common, you have at least two movies on your list that will get Sominex points from me (The Sleeping Beauty and Mysteries of Lisbon).

Aaron: Oh, I’m sorry, Mr. Shalit, I didn’t know smart movies or movies that give a damn and don’t talk down to their audiences were bad. I guess that The Sleeping Beauty and Mysteries of Lisbon didn’t play in multiplexes across Mississippi and Arkansas means they’re snobbish and elite (in the bad way that Republicans use the word).

I would criticize Moneyball but I’ve already forgotten it. (Wait, I feel like it’s about a failure of a man pulls a rabbit out of a hat by stealing someone else’s ideas and making them sorta work… until they don’t really work … and he has a family with a daughter who plays guitar? Sounds dull.) Mission Impossible: Ghost Penis is such a banal action movie, again, it’s not really worth much criticism… except to say that exterior-building-scaling scene is way too short. If you’re going to pay supporters of slavery to shoot a movie in their country you might as well get your money’s worth.

About Aaron & Alex

We're two highly opinionated, movie-going, liberal, cynical, (single) New York Jews who like to bitch about movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

