Aaron’s Top Ten of 2010

Aaron: So I posed my Top Ten list on my own blog around the beginning of the year, but I’m happy to repost it here, for Alex (who is too effing lazy to look at my blog) and for all of you lovely people.

Here goes (in ascending order, because I don’t believe in rising swells of excitement… or sarcasm):

A Prophet

Bluebeard

Everyone Else

4 Dogtooth

Eccentricities of a Blond-Haired Girl

Mademoiselle Chambon

Human Centipede

Alamar

The Oath

10 Winter’s Bone

I will say I just watched the indie doc DDR/DDR and have been thinking about it a lot. I don’t think it will make it into the Top Ten, but will be close behind it as an honorable mention…

Alex: Aaron, you old reprobate, I read your blog all the time (and bravo to you for including Toy Story 3 in your list of honorable mentions). My compliments also on your list and on your call to list-related armistice.

Although I just don’t see what the big deal is about A Prophet. But I promised I’ll watch it a second time, and I will, I swear!

Two of your movies that didn’t make my list are movies I love: Alamar and Dogtooth. The latter, I suspect, will feature prominently on my Ira ballot.

Congrats to us on being faithful and discerning filmgoers. (Oh, and I’m finally gonna see Carlos tonight. Er, well, I’m DVR-ing it tonight. I’ll see it in the next few days.)

Aaron: I’ve come to the conclusion that A Prophet is one of the best movies I’ve ever seen in my life. I am not kidding about that; I’m serious like cancer. I think it’s endlessly deep and visually amazing for being as simple as it is (it’s a prison movie). It moves along in such a way that you don’t notice the long run-time. It’s a great work of literature that you can revisit over and over again. If you don’t understand that, Alex, you’re an effing moron. (Kidding. Sorta.)

I like Carlos a lot. I think Edgar Ramirez is brilliant and I think there’s a lot of great stuff in it. It deserves lots of respect for it’s sheer length (heh heh heh), but I think it’s ultimately a bit shallow (Carlos doesn’t really learn or grow over the course of 5.5 hours).  A recommendation: think about the Mark Zuckerberg character in The Social Network and how he compares to the Carlos character here. I think they’re very similar and that the films are actually twins… but like Schwarzeneggar and DeVito. Like, f’real. (And to be clear, Carlos is a much, much better film than The Social Network.)

About Aaron & Alex

We're two highly opinionated, movie-going, liberal, cynical, (single) New York Jews who like to bitch about movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

