Incomplete-Sentence Reviews of 19 Movies

Alex: In the last 12 days I’ve seen 19 movies that were released in 2010. Here’s my ADHD round-up:

  • The Kids Are All Right: Funny, touching, subversive.
  • October Country: Very compelling, highly depressing, a portrait more than a narrative.
  • The Strange Case of Angelica: Manoel de Oliveira is a living genius, but this movie is what his devotees will rightly call “minor Oliveira.”
  • Exit through the Gift Shop: Riveting, funny, unexpectedly profound. A fresh approach to What Is Art?
  • Hadewijch: Oy. I mean, the acting is great, but oy.
  • Double Take: See previous entry. I want to kick this movie in the balls.
  • The Last Exorcism: Much more interesting than expected, very eerie and disturbing.
  • Rabbit Hole: Aaron has convinced me of his point of view: this movie is more “meh” than “eh.”
  • I Love You Phillip Morris: Loved it. One of my favorites of the year.
  • True Grit: Awfully talky. But very suspenseful and kind of perverse. Great acting.
  • Nora’s Will: Very clever, subtle, quiet dramadey about Mexican Jews mourning a matriarch’s suicide — which turns out to be more of a pain in the ass than a tragedy (which is just what the woman intended). I love this movie.
  • Tiny Furniture: Another good movie! I’m overwhelmed! Uncomfortable-funny. Quite sad. Very New York. Loved it.
  • Alamar: Gorgeous in look, sound, and subject matter. Very moving.
  • The Illusionist: Snore pie with yawn sauce.
  • The Fighter: Eh, it’s okay. I dunno. Awfully earnest. A little monotonous. Wahlberg is great and overshadowed by showier performances.
  • Please Give: Uncomfortable-funny. Quite sad. Very New York. Loved it.
  • Another Year: Snore pie with extra yawn sauce.
  • Blue Valentine: I fucking hate this fucking movie.
  • Clash of the Titans (hey, it was on HBO, I was sitting on my couch, the first round of the Sony Open was postponed because of rain — what was I supposed to do? Read a book?): It made me miss Harry Hamlin.

Aaron: OK – posts like this, Alex, annoy me because it looks like you did a lot of work (which you did), but really you just crammed for the test on the weekend before the test after fucking around for the whole term. Some of us work all year long and don’t bitch about not having DVDs of obscure foreign titles that played in New York for months. Whatever. Welcome to the movie-watching world.

I’m glad you liked:

  • October Country
  • Exit through the Gift Shop
  • Nora’s Will
  • Tiny Furniture
  • Alamar

I think you’re crazy about:

  • I Love You Phillip Morris
  • Another Year

I think you’re too generous with:

  • The Kids are All Right
  • Please Give

All in all, not a bad list and you’re right more than you’re wrong. I didn’t see Clash of the Titans or The Last Exorcism. I won’t see those movies, but I’m glad you … experienced them. I frequently miss Harry Hamlin…

Alex: Well, somebody’s got some sand in her vagina. Gosh, Aaron, I’m so sorry if my movie-going habits offend you. I guess I can’t ever really be a cinephile if I don’t spend four nights per week, 52 weeks per year, patronizing actual movie theatres. YOU’RE JUST TOO MUCH MAN FOR ME, AARON!

Please Give is totally excellent. Another Year is minor Leigh. Or maybe it’s major Leigh. Honestly, I can’t tell the difference.

Aaron: OK, OK. I said annoy, not offend. You can get to your movies whenever you damn well please. Please Give is far from excellent – and six months after seeing it, it totally doesn’t stand out to me as a great work… unlike other films which are absolutely indelible.

I do think that Another Year is lesser Leigh, but I also think he’s so talented that his lesser work is still miles ahead of most people’s best works (like Holofcener)… I think of Lorna’s Silence and the Dardennes. It’s clearly lesser Dardenne, but in the grand scope of time, it’s a very good movie. Just like the Dardennes, Leigh doesn’t really make bad movies.

About Aaron & Alex

We're two highly opinionated, movie-going, liberal, cynical, (single) New York Jews who like to bitch about movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

