Alex’s Candidates for Worst of the Year, or: Alex Discovers WordPress’s Bullet List Feature

Alex: After watching The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest — an unforgivably boring movie — I am compelled to compile this list. If you are new to the blog, I hasten to add that it’s a complement to Aaron’s and my Top Ten Candidates posts, lest you think we are only cranks all the time.

Anyway, here are some movies that totally suck:

  • The Wolfman
  • The Killer Inside Me
  • Scott Pilgrim vs. the World
  • The Town
  • Soul Kitchen
  • Fair Game
  • Agora
  • Black Swan
  • Mother
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest

Aaron: That’s a very good list, but sad that it contains a movie by Fatih Akin, who we would both agree is one of the most talented directors working today. He clearly struck out with Soul Kitchen…. I didn’t dislike it as much as you did, but it is certainly not a good movie. I think you’re too mean on Scott Pilgrim. I thought it was fun and clever. I’m not going to challenge you too much on it because it’s a comic book movie and those are inherently dumb.

Alex: I admit I’m being a little hard on Scott Pilgrim. It just happens to touch on a bunch of stuff I’m already sensitive and angry about. I understand the reasons why people champion the movie, and there’s certainly a style and a sense of humor about it, but I thought it celebrated the virtues of narcissism. Wait. Don’t get me started. I’ll get started in another post.

About Aaron & Alex

We're two highly opinionated, movie-going, liberal, cynical, (single) New York Jews who like to bitch about movies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

